I am Lakota (repost from 10-5-07)

I am Lakota.

That is who I am.

I was asked if I even knew what it meant to be Lakota, since I am only half and not a full blood.

Lakota is in my blood. Being Lakota has given me the pride and spirit I have been searching for all my life. I can finally say I am Lakota and Proud.

I admit, it is a hard life but only if you concentrate on the negative and I try not to.

I don’t think that just because the government can keep track of how much blood of mine is actually Lakota with registered paperwork and by stamping a number on me can define exactly how much Lakota I am. For even though, I have French blood and Filipino blood in my veins, I am Lakota. I was born and raised Lakota. I was taught the Lakota ways…ways that I wished in my youth I hadn’t been so hasty and stubborn to push away.

Being Lakota means to be brave, disciplined, and courageous while living humbly and low to the ground.

Being Lakota is to be patient and tolerant, respectful and compassionate. You must live your life with understanding of others and be generous.

Lakota’s accept each other, they don’t want and wish for each other to fall or fail.

There are seven sacred laws of the Lakota Way of Life and this is how we live. In these ways that our ours there is no room for greed, or dis-respect. I don’t think that my blood quantum can show you how much Lakota I really am.

For it is in my heart, in my soul, in my spirit and I live my life being Lakota every single day.

And it is a beautiful life.

(This is in response to some criticism questioning how much Lakota I really am.)

Leave a Reply

