Mitakuye Oyasin

Do NOT underestimate who I am

Or twist the meaning of my words

For so defiantly with my right hand

I will throw down some wicked nouns and verbs

Like this:

I come from my mother

Whose knowledge spreads like the Milky Way

I come from my brothers

Who are the warriors of today

I come from my grandmother

Who wasn’t scared of a soul

I come from my father

Whose heart glows like a red hot coal

I come from my sisters

Who always stand to the side of me

I come from my grandfather

Whose beliefs are rooted deep as a tree

I come from my ancestors

Whose spirits are those that are truly free

I come from a strong people

Who have been underestimated

Remember that

Before you think you know who we are

For we are all related.

Mitakuye Oyasin

-Dana Lonehill 2011- ©

7 thoughts on “Mitakuye Oyasin

  1. I’m guessing that “Mitakuye Oyasin” means “kick some ass” in Lakota, right? *giggle* Naw. You know me. I looked it up. So, I found out the meaning. It means that we are sisters, too. 🙂 I love the rhyme in this one, and the imagery also — the part about your mom’s knowledge spreading like the Milky Way is really beautiful. I had this really cool picture in my head of what it looked like to me. I wish I were an artist: I’d draw what I envisioned. It’s quite nice. I liked all the things I saw as I read…

    So a total aside, but I had a dream with you in it last night! We were in a women’s minimum security prison — really minimum. It was more like a college dorm, actually, but we could not leave the building. Actually, now that I think about it, it was kind of like a rehab center. LOL — I have *NO* idea what we were doing in there. But there we were. You were showing me the ropes and helping me out with all the things to do and not do. I don’t really remember too many details, just a sense of the place and that you were helping me a lot. Crazy, huh! I had to come on here & tell you about it. 😀 You were so helpful in the dream I just had to come and say “thank you.” 😉

    I’m so glad you are writing, DanaDane.
    xx
    Me

    • It was an old college reformed into a medium max prison I was in. And they kept us in old dorms. The only time I was in any cells were en route. I would tell you to not wear that color lipstick and don’t be so nice. Lol. Almost all of my poetry rhymes. My sons write the same way, I told them to read the old school poetry. Frost rhymed, Whitman, ….there was never any problem with rhyming back then and there still isn’t.
      A little over a year ago when I was released, I had to had to find a job. I did a mandatory 30 plus hours job search a week. And every where I went, every interview people would realize I was just released and look at me like I was scum. It was then, after an interview I walked away from that made me feel like shit that I was thinking, fuck they don’t even know me. They don’t know who I am where I came from or who my people are. And the first line in my head was Do not underestimate who I am. I walked back in that place, stole a pen and started writing this as I was walking. Lol. The pens were free, anyway. (that just sounded more Clint Eastwood-ish.)

      • “It was an old college reformed into a medium max prison I was in. And they kept us in old dorms.”

        Whoa!! Wild! So maybe I actually dreamed the place, eh? Interesting!

        “I would tell you to not wear that color lipstick and don’t be so nice. Lol.”

        That, in fact, sounds a lot like something that could have been in the dream. 😀

        I love knowing more of the background of this poem. I love knowing how it came about.

        You rock so hard, RezChick. 🙂

        Oh and instead of this: “(that just sounded more Clint Eastwood-ish.)” Nuh-uh. It’s CHUCK NORRIS-ish, lol!! Hahahaha! Okay, I’ll give you Eastwood, too. He is so badass. I heart that guy a lot.

Leave a Reply

