When the sadness subsides and the anger sets in…

3658653430_57478f98bb

The Massacre at Wounded Knee is a heartbreaking tale.  There is no doubt about that.  There is also no doubt that people don’t like to be reminded of the horrid incident that happened there in 1890.  There are people who drive by Wounded Knee every day.  They see those ravines.  People who live there.  Knowing that not too far from their every day life on the rez, the land nearby still holds the blood of those who died there.  It is put to the back of the mind.  Modern day worries of bills, family, job may come to mind.  But those who drive by, those who walk by, those who live on that land, know in the back of their mind, always that children once hid in those ravines, praying the soldiers didn’t find them.

It is sad.

I don’t write to make people sad, although I have been known to be a tear jerker.  I don’t have to write nothing but the facts about Wounded Knee to make a sad story.  It is shocking to those who don’t know.  It is sad beyond belief.  Then it pisses me off.  I am not one who tries to be mad for no reason or any reason.  I don’t seek anger the way some like the heat of the passion of anger.  I try to keep things in my life light hearted and easygoing.  However, the anger I have for what happened there makes me want to do what I can to change it.  Makes me want to rewrite history.  Makes me want to tell the whole world what this country did to it’s Indigenous.  I know it is not the first massacre of Indigenous in the world, but listening to the inauguration speech yesterday about how wonderful this country is, made me more mad.  How does this country think it is superior, when it has done nothing ethically or morally right regarding Native Americans?  And we are supposed to be quiet and take the free crappy health care, the land put in trust so we can never develop further?  We’re supposed to take the funding for programs so heavily regulated by the government that we will never get any further ahead, and be quiet about the horrid past at Wounded Knee?  Be quiet about the fact that soldiers who killed babies out there were given the highest honor in this country?

I am angry about it when I see stories like My Lai Massacre, in Vietnam where the soldiers were court martialed and charged.  It makes me angry when I see the story of Sergeant Bales who now faces the death penalty for killing sixteen Afghan civilians.   How is that different to what happened to the Lakota at Wounded Knee?

You see, this campaign to rescind the medals is not to relive the past or make you cry over and over again.  But I hope you did feel sad, at first.  When the sadness subsides and the anger sets in and that anger, I hope will make you want to rescind these medals and make change as much as I do.  We are not living in the past, we are remembering it and moving forward, rewriting our history with the truth.

Because if we don’t do this here and now, who will?  We cannot let this country, land of the free and home of the brave, continue to disregard us and write us off.  Because they didn’t kill all the Lakota at Wounded Knee.  There were survivors.

We want those medals taken away, because really is that what they stand for?  Murder?

Please to  sign the petition click here.  or join the facebook page: www.facebook.com/NoMedalsForMassacres

10 thoughts on “When the sadness subsides and the anger sets in…

  1. Thank you so much for what you have written, you have put in to words the feelings and emotions, that I have had difficulty in writing and expressing. You are truly a lovely young woman, with a very beautiful heart. Philamayaye Jacqui

  2. I totally understand your frustation. I am not familiar with the total histry of Wounded Knee. I too wish the honor and power that actions like that would be retracted and the medals taken away. they don’t deserve any recognition. However, and this is a small example, there is a veteran in a wheel chair that runs around our town and stops in our deli from time to time, that was in a body bag three different times in Viet Nam, and all he gets to show for it is a little medal, and partial healthcare. There is a lot to his story and the only real benefit he really has is the flag of his military company and an American flag, that he carries in his bag. Yes , Wounded Knee was a tragedy, but there are plenty of stories like Glenn’s in this country. He too has been set on the back burner and left to die a lonesome miserable life. I just hope my deviled eggs are a bright spot in his life.

  3. Growing up as the child of settlers, my parents watched lots of “westerns” on TV. The indigenous peoples were always portrayed as bloodthirsty savages…and I soon began to wonder: why were they attacking the nice settlers? It didn’t make any sense. By the time I started high school, I found out the history, and have been horrified, and supportive of all natives peoples everywhere. I read many books on native culture and spirituality, and found most of it to be more meaningful than the drivel I was being fed by my own culture and religion. I am thrilled by the Idle No More Movement; it will be the savior of the Earth.
    Keep writing and standing up; you are not alone.

  4. It still makes me cry, even when it angers me to the very core of my soul. I hope there is enough on the petition to bring this to our president’s attention. The more voices the better.

  5. When I lived in Kyle, I could not pass down that way without feeling an overwhelming sense of sadness, despair, pain, and loss. For many years, I’ve always tried to present this part of our history in it’s true light, as a part of American history. The problem is that America has NEVER considered us to be a part of it’s society, nor will America ever truly accept us as a part of this society, either. Due to the fact that they do not accept us, they illogically reason that our history will never be their history. Look at all of these immigrants running around screaming, “I didn’t do that to you! My ancestors did, it’s not my fault!” They refuse to accept the true history as part of theirs.

    What truly saddens me, is watching our people continue to try and fit into Western Society, rather than trying to build the phenomenal collection of sovereign entities our collective nations can become. We must first start by supporting Native-owned businesses before we support non-Native owned businesses. Once we take that first step, we can start implementing ways to get our true histories taught to our children by our traditional elders.

  6. Btw, back in ’06 when a friend had a radio show broadcast out of Long Island, I had him read this blog entry I wrote on the Massacre of Wounded (originally posted on myspace… yes, it’s that old). I keep trying to edit the post so paragraph breaks appear, but for some reason the breaks never materialize. Hope you can still read it without the breaks. http://flyjointproductions.com/2006/12/30/remembering-the-wounded-knee-massacre-116-years-later/

Leave a Reply

