My Pops

My dad has always been there for me no matter what. Today I couldn’t be there for him. Because I lived too far away, but I was able to get a hold of the my Grandma and tell her he was having a stroke. He’s stubborn, thinks he is invincible, and doesn’t realize how much we love him. He will never read this, because he never goes on the internet.

I was moody all day, worrying about my dad. Sending a search party out for him to make him go get help, something he doesn’t like to ask for.
So while everyone was feeling bad for the people hurt at the Boston Marathon bombings, which is an everyday thing in other countries, I was stressing about my father.

He is ok.

And I am damn lucky. Damn lucky.
I have more time with him. I get to see him grow to be a crabby, old man. Now if he will admit that, everything will be fine.

Ain’t gotta lie to kick it

8 thoughts on “My Pops

  1. Your dad is a strong and handsome looking man…… and clearly very stubborn… Glad you were able to be there for him (even remotely). Even if he is mad at you, you did good and he will get over it. *hugs* sorry you had such a rough day.

  2. I believe personal stress and care trumps collective angst. I am glad he is OK. From the photo he seems a handsome man! Being as close to Boston as we are, and having family, including adult kids. as well as friends, there, we were pretty stressed. Today seems a bit better but the world appears a very difficult place.

  3. …. and I was worrying about my beautiful niece who is a runner and also works at Brigham & Women’s Hospital in Boston. We did not learn that she was alive until dawn on Tuesday. Today is her 24 birthday.

    You may not know that in 1936, a Native American runner, Ellison “Tarzan” Brown, at 100 to 1 odds, beat the favored Johnny Kelly. Tarzan overtook Johnny on the steepest hill in Newton, Massachusetts. From that race since, the hill has been called “Heartbreak Hill”, due to the anguish of Johnny Kelly.

    Today, many hearts are on the ground.

  4. Your family will be in my thoughts and prayers. We are going through something similar. My dad is strong and refuses to ask for help, or go to a doctor when it is needed. 3 weeks ago I received a call from a friend who said dad wasn’t acting right. I left work and raced to find him. Called friends to comb our little town. I found him in time, got him to a hospital in time. He is going to be fine, now.

Leave a Reply

