my first belief

There are so many, so many things to believe in

Especially as a woman aboriginal of Turtle Island

All the wrongs this red, white, and blue

Have done to my people for hundred of years

 

They are now committing these same acts

of torture, terrorism, thievery, and pain 

To be carried on through our next

Five sets of grandchildren

 

I know what we need to fight for

Battles never ending on the plains

I know to be at our strongest point

We must believe in ourselves and

stand alone in the rain.

 

 

One thought on “my first belief

  1. As elegant a description of ‘counting coup’ as ever I’ve heard, Dana. Those words strike me and I feel strongly resonant to them too…
    “I know to be at our strongest point
    We must believe in ourselves and
    stand alone in the rain.”

    I’m just an aging Celt sister in the rain somewhere to the south.
    How ever will we change it all … in Peace?
    Those representative GrandMothers out every nation across the planet says it’s up to us women to see that this is how it’s done. Sounds like standing alone in the rain.

Leave a Reply

