Reflections of A Third World Child

It’s so hard living in a third world country

That even if I somehow happened to win the lottery

I would still be living of the poverty that assaults my county

It’s an irony that a land filled with milk and honey

Still cries no money

With it’s leaders becoming millionaires

And the people poorer every minute

Thu making the leaders billionaires

every hour

and the people paupers

every day

A nation that sighs and cries for debt relief

Deceiving the world to believe in it’s grief

But n reality the leaders are living in luxury

Embezzling without thinking of me

A poor poor child with no hopes

of being who he wants to be

It’s so hard living in a third world country

That even if I somehow happened to win the lottery

I’d still be living in poverty that assaults my country

-Ty Dixon

age 16

Pine Ridge, SD

Pine Ridge Reservation 2010

My son

 

2 thoughts on “Reflections of A Third World Child

  1. Thank you for sharing Ty’s writing. My son was 34 and he killed himself a few weeks ago. I used to tell him to write,to use it as a release of whatever is inside him…….keep writing~your a good mom~you are a good son~keep writing both of you~~

    • Dear pamela, wen i read ur reply i was so touched wen u mentioned that ur son killed himself some weeks back.i just wanted to comfort u and to let u know also that somehow it’s gonna be all right.i admit the pain of a grieving mother can’t be felt by another but trust me wen i say i feel ur pain. I equally feel ur a good mother, in d way u said u often told him to write to release the things inside of him. Just wanted to say God will take care of u and everything, just ask him.through d love of God our saviour, all will be well.amen

Leave a Reply

