Flip The Script

“You know how we built the pyramids? You gotta ask yourself a question always flip the script. What if up was down and down was up? What if you looked down into space standing up on Earth? This is how we built the pyramids.”  -Eddie Griffin

Eddie Griffin is awesome.  Love his comedy, love his message.  He has a ton of messages; some political, some religious, some common sense.  And some, like the one above, inspirational.

This is a message I always try to get out to my kids.  Flip the script.  Look at things a different way.  Realize what you can do.

This doesn’t mean you have to be rich and famous.  Or even rich or even famous.  It means coming to moment of inner peace with your life.  That moment of clarity when you realize you are happy in life.  It took me a long time to get there.  Sometimes, out of the pure evil bad habit of being dysfunctional, I question my happiness.

Then have to remember where I was, where I came from, and where I am now.  Where I am now is happier than I have been in a long time.  I am happy with being content.

So this goes back to the “American dream.”  We want our children to be better than us.  Do better than us.  We raise them to be more successful.  But what if the parents opinions of success differ from the children.

To me that is where flipping the script comes into play.  I have seen so many people in their 20’s still worried about what their parents think.  I watch Chopped, it is one of my favorite shows.  But have seen so many young chefs on there wanting to win to validate to their parents that “yes, I did get that law degree from an Ivy League school but this is what I love, and I want to prove to you that I am good at it.”

I once saw a parent on fb posting about their kid going off to college and someone posted “Well at least they won’t be working at Pizza Hut.”  And I kind of wanted to say something, take a stand for the blue collar worker.  Maybe the guy who makes your pizza is perfectly happy?  Someone has to make the pizza, right?  Why do people have to look down on someone because they have a minimum wage job?  They work harder, budget better, and most the time have more than one job.

As parents I feel there is nothing wrong with encouraging our children to be the best that they can be.  But that means also, that their best may be what they want to do, what makes them happy.  As long as they are doing good, decent human beings, and love life.

That should go for all of us though.  If we are not happy what we are doing, we are never stuck in a rut.  There is always  point in life we can change.  And there is always that time when we know we can change.  There is always a point when we can flip the script and see life in a new way.  Realize what we can do and not think about what we can’t.

Leave a Reply

