I am an Indian Woman

I am an Indian woman

who stands tall and proud

as short as I am

I am an Indian woman

strong and loud

as quiet as I seem

I am an Indian woman

you do not mess with

because you don’t know

I am an Indian woman

wild and restless

in her own land

I am an Indian woman

respectful but mistreated

one too many times

I am an Indian woman

whose never been defeated

so many times

I am an Indian woman

who learned from her grandmother

how to be.

I am an Indian woman

and there is no other

kind of woman I would ‘wannabe.’

dlh

3 thoughts on “I am an Indian Woman

  1. Especially the line ‘I am an Indian Woman / who’s never been defeated’ resonates powerfully with me…. it’s almost funny how easily one can feel powerful or ‘broken beyond repair’ but the truth is, that the truth can never be tainted. It is only we who forget, or play tricks with our minds…

    Maybe you’d enjoy reading my thoughts ‘I am woman.’
    http://thechroniclesofnavi.com/2013/01/06/i-am-woman/

Leave a Reply

