Unless you have tasted it

I have never eaten key lime pie.  I probably never will.  I have seen it made on tv, it has a weird testure to me, is it lime?  Is it pudding?  Or like a cheesecake?  I don’t know.  I have seen the recipe but never took the time to notice how it is made to give it that strange texture.  I have seen people order it but I look away because honestly, key lime pie makes me uncomfortable.  So I can honestly say, I have never “experienced” key lime pie.  It may be a flavor of yogurt I buy for my daughter and even though the picture on the front depicts key lime pie, it is in fact, not key lime pie.  The funny thing is I have nothing against limes.  They are great for seasoning and I even like limeade, just not the pie.

So in saying that and admitting that, I can only tell you what I do know.

You can not really talk to people about racism if you never experienced it.  You can not preach to people on how to handle racism if you have only read about it.  There are people, like me, like my children, like my family, like my friends, and relatives, and relatives of relatives who experience racism sometimes on a daily basis, to the point where we get jaded to it.  Where a cashier will throw the change at us instead of handing it to us, or a salesperson will follow us around, or we will be waited on last in a restaurant and being jaded, we will think “Oh that person doesn’t like Indians.”  And we will hold our heads high and walk away knowing that we didn’t steal, we didn’t react, we didn’t give the best tip we could’ve because in the state of South Dakota racism against Native Americans is rampant.

I no longer read the hateful comments on social media pages that add fuel to the fire of racism.  I don’t need to be affected because someone called us “those people” or put our people down because I know how wonderful of people we are.

However racism against our children is another thing and I will speak out, or write about it for that matter.  And when someone living in Hidden Valley Ranch (fictional place), California wants to tell me how racism affects the white people around her because “blacks attack them” or tell me how I should humbly and quietly fight racism by loving everyone, then I will tell her in her blue eyes that she should live a day in the life of a Lakota person in South Dakota.

Do not talk to a people who are being affected by racism, who are looking for solutions, who are hoping for change, who won’t be quiet about it because children were assaulted like you know what is best for them and their people.  We don’t like “crying racism” we do what we can to fight it.

If you even experienced racism once, you have a small, tiny few seconds of a view into our lives.

We will never be quiet about it because South Dakota is Lakota land and we are not going anywhere except up in population and up in doing great things to make lives better for our children.

I don’t even like pie, I love cheesecake though.

http://rapidcityjournal.com/news/local/article_9b65b4f5-9270-51bb-bafe-e1953d8cfdda.html

7 thoughts on “Unless you have tasted it

  1. I use to live in Iowa a few years back and as a student around Christmas wanted to make extra cash at a local department store on my holiday break. During the interview she told me I was going to walk around and do loss prevention. I had no idea what that meant until couple days after…..look for price tags on dressing room floor plus follow minority’s around and make their day suck. I barely made it through a six hour shift. That will always be my one day job. One thing us white people can do is not participate in the bullshit. Key lime pie is ok but a margarita is much better:)

  2. Key lime pie, when made correctly, is one of my favorite foods. Racism, and ablism, are indigestible. This story of racism at a kid’s game just makes my blood boil and my skin crawl. The racism I face, being light complected and socially connected, is periodic and subdued (usually). Yet it still stings and often leaves me wordless. I can’t imagine having to deal with it multiple times a day. I just don’t get hatred I guess. Senseless.

  3. Keylime pie must be an acquired taste. As a native growing up off the reservation, I never heard of it, I think it wasnt until I got a job in college working for a sorority that I discovered what key lime pie was. My tastes run toward hamburger, steak, homemade bread and the very name of keylime pie strikes a sour note in my taste buds. Best suggestion I have is, if you havent tried it, dont worry, you are not missing out. As for the analogy of keylime and racism, well, each those things are best dealt with on a case to case basis.

  4. Just stumbled upon your blog and love it! I too grew up in South Dakota and saw racism and was told to “go back to where you came from” while in the black hills. I now live in Missouri where everyone thinks it’s “cool” to be an Indian and everyone’s great great great grandma was a Cherokee princess haha. When I was young, I was at Walmart Service Center with my Grandma. I watched everyone get waited on and her left standing there, being ignored. She just stood there and waited until finally someone helped her and ignored the color of her skin. I didn’t understand why she did that at the time but now I know. She didn’t give them the reaction they wanted, she rose above the situation with her patience and forgiveness.

  5. I really don’t like key lime pie, I think you aren’t missing much. It’s kind of sour and sweet at the same time and its kind of weird. As for racism… it happens, ignorant people are everywhere. I have blue eyes but for me the Native American people I know and have know were really cool. The best way to deal with racism is to go with a friend. Nothing can prevent it, but it will sure have a less of an impact if a friend is next to you.

Leave a Reply

